• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: using a usb keyboard  (Read 1765 times)
vkashesh
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 34


View Profile
« on: October 14, 2009, 05:24:14 PM »

Can anyone tell me how I can get a USB keyboard to work on the plug?
I tried connecting one through the USB Type A port (USB Device), it receives power (my leds turn on/off) but no key strokes are showing on the console (I can see the console through the serial connection or mini USB and using hyperterminal)?

When I type: dmesg | tail
root@ubuntu:~# dmesg | tail
 sda: sda1
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI removable disk
eth0: link up, 10 Mb/s, half duplex, flow control disabled
NET: Registered protocol family 10
eth0: no IPv6 routers present
usb 1-1: USB disconnect, address 2
usb 1-1: new low speed USB device using orion-ehci and address 3
usb 1-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
input: DELL DELL USB Keyboard as /devices/platform/orion-ehci.0/usb1/1-1/1-1:1.0/input/input0
generic-usb 0003:413C:2005.0001: input: USB HID v1.10 Keyboard [DELL DELL USB Keyboard] on usb-orion
-ehci.0-1/input0
root@ubuntu:~#



How can I capture the key strokes?

Thanks
« Last Edit: October 14, 2009, 05:39:04 PM by vkashesh » Logged

tamberg
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2010, 12:29:32 PM »

Hi vkashesh,

got the same (beginner?)  problem. Did you find a solution?

Regards,
tamberg
Logged

UnaClocker
Full Member
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 131



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2010, 05:07:03 PM »

That's because the console's input is tied to that serial port. You'd need to hook a USB-vga adapter up to go with that keyboard before you'd get a console that goes with that keyboard. I imagine there's some command to redirect the console's input to the keyboard, but just plugging it in isn't the trick.
Logged

SheevaPlug - 8gb class 4 SDHC primary drive, 4tb 3.5" media drive, Debian Wheezy, nginx, Samba, Shorewall

tamberg
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2010, 06:31:33 AM »

@UnaClocker: Thanks. Tried to use screen to run the keyboard input (/dev/stdin) consuming EXE in the background. No success.

Regards,
tamberg
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: