• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: SMBFS and module.dep  (Read 2342 times)
madmike

View Profile
« on: October 30, 2009, 09:24:31 AM »

Hi,
I have a problem that I'm hoping someone can help me with. I am a relative novice with Linux but I sucessfully moved my Sheevaplug's linux installation to an SD card and ran updates according to the WIki's how-to. All was well, and I have installed packages, configured TCPwrappers etc until I tried to install SMBFS. Following instructions on how to do this, I used apt-get to get  the package and then got as far as running

modprobe smbfs

when I get the following message
FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.22.18/modules.dep: No such file or directory

Looking in /lib/modules I see that there are no files or directories and mounting the original nand fs shows the same there to. Searching within the forums here and elsewhere, I have seen people with similar problems, but I haven't really understood the threads enough to be able to fix it. Could someone explain to me in nube terms what I need to fix this please?

Many thanks.

kilowatt
Global Moderator

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2009, 04:26:58 PM »

run

depmod -a

Then try modprobe again.

madmike

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2009, 02:21:12 AM »

When i run "depmod -a" I get the following

WARNING: Couldn't open directory /lib/modules/2.6.22.18: No such file or directory
 FATAL: Could not open /lib/modules/2.6.22.18/modules.dep.temp for writing: No such file or directory

:-(

kilowatt
Global Moderator

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2009, 10:13:02 AM »

The original file system and kernel shipped with the plug are pretty stripped down and doesn't have the kernel modules.  You would probably be better off if you upgrade your kernel and FS with the SheevaPlug installer 1.0 and work from that.

madmike

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2009, 06:00:08 AM »