• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: One Plug, One Ethernet cable, One Computer at other end  (Read 1771 times)
jm_eng
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 16


View Profile
« on: October 23, 2009, 11:23:20 AM »

I would like to log into my plug in a terminal window on my pc
with just an ethernnet cable between the plug  and my  computer.
(I often have all my usb plugs on my laptop used up with other devices)

Do I really need a router  (with some kind of "DHCP" server on it)
to talk  to my plug  via the provided ethernet cable ?

How can I get DHCP server functionality on my laptop so I can talk
to my plug In a terminal window. ( without a separate router.)
I have XP, Vista, and Linux op systems available on my
laptop. Any help is appreciated for any of these op systems.

Thanks for any , help on making the plug easier to use in this simple way.

Sincerely

jm_eng

Logged

Reedy
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2009, 11:43:39 AM »

You actually dont need DHCP at all.

You can use the serial to got a console on the device, and set a static ip address if you are going to use it plugged in straight into another pc
Logged

fragfutter
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 12
Posts: 280


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2009, 12:08:52 PM »

if i understood jm_eng he has no empty USB port on his Laptop, so no serial cable.

You can configure the plug to use a static IP. Edit /etc/network/interfaces

Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.2
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.1.1

(adapt to your laptops network)

Or try to use zeroconf/bonjour. Never used it.
Logged

jm_eng
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2009, 03:25:31 PM »

Hello fragfutter:
I had it working with a program called  haneWIN DHCP server, but I then thought
"why not try the static ip addres way ?" and tried something like this:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
address 127.0.0.1
netmask 255.0.0.0
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.5.2
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.5.1

But  then I could not login at all using puTTY, I wonder if I should have not said gateway =
192.168.5.1 because this was the ip adder of my linksys router. Well I read the instr
SheevaPlug Development Kit README-Rev1.2 and was able to use hyperterminal  to get
via the tiny usb plug on the side to get back in  and try something else...
See attched .pdf for my sojourn so far.

* PuttyOnVista1.pdf (363.19 KB - downloaded 133 times.)
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: