• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: Can't connect to sheevaplug from outside home network  (Read 4381 times)
ebp
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 24


View Profile
« on: August 17, 2009, 04:36:37 AM »

Hi

I have no problem connecting to my sheevaplug from my local, but from outside my local network i can't. I have forwarded the ports to the sheevaplug. I have a airport extreme router and i tried connecting via ssh and the transmission web ui.
Logged

birdman
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 4
Posts: 443


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2009, 12:42:30 PM »

You need to set up a default route.  From the command line run:

Quote
route add default gw IP-addr-of-router
and see whether that helps.  I don't (yet) know how to get this done automatically at boot time with a hardwired IP address.  Mind you - DHCP should set it...
Logged

ebp
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 24


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2009, 03:45:14 AM »

Does this mean that i should do nothing since my router used dhcp?
Logged

AutoStatic
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2009, 02:05:25 PM »

Hello ebp, it's most definitely a router issue I think. First of all, try giving your plug a static IP and configure your router to forward ports to that specific static IP. Works best for me.
Logged

birdman
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 4
Posts: 443


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2009, 02:23:23 PM »

Does this mean that i should do nothing since my router used dhcp?
If it isn't working you should do something.  What does:
  netstat -rn
show?
Logged

ebp
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 24


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2009, 02:11:00 PM »

Does this mean that i should do nothing since my router used dhcp?
If it isn't working you should do something.  What does:
  netstat -rn
show?

Here's the output:

Code:


root@simba:~# netstat -rn
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
10.0.1.0        0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U         0 0          0 eth0
0.0.0.0         10.0.1.1        0.0.0.0         UG        0 0          0 eth0



Logged

ebp
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 24


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2009, 02:12:01 PM »

Hello ebp, it's most definitely a router issue I think. First of all, try giving your plug a static IP and configure your router to forward ports to that specific static IP. Works best for me.

I have assigned it a static ip and port forward, but it doesn't work Sad
Logged

birdman
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 4
Posts: 443


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2009, 04:04:46 PM »

OK.  I've just read what your actual problem is.  You can't connect *INTO* the plug from an external address.  I thought you couldn't connect *out to* an external address *from* the plug.
So, a few questions:
  • Have you ever connected in to any other home device?
  • What is the "transmission web ui" you tried connecting to?
Logged

AutoStatic
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2009, 12:42:24 AM »

Transmission is a torrent client.
And ebp, what brand/type of router are you using? And how does your /etc/network/interfaces look like?
Logged

ebp
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 24


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2009, 02:00:28 AM »

Transmission is a torrent client.
And ebp, what brand/type of router are you using? And how does your /etc/network/interfaces look like?

It's a apple airport extreme, it doesn't seem like i have a /etc/network/interfaces
Logged

AutoStatic
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2009, 03:00:09 AM »

Which OS are you using on your SheevaPlug? If it's Ubuntu or Debian you must have a /etc/network/interfaces file.
And I know close to nothing about any Apple hardware, but I'll try to look up some info on how to forward ports.
Logged

ebp
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 24


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2009, 04:20:40 AM »

Which OS are you using on your SheevaPlug? If it's Ubuntu or Debian you must have a /etc/network/interfaces file.
And I know close to nothing about any Apple hardware, but I'll try to look up some info on how to forward ports.

Sorry my bad, i didn't see it at first, here it is:

Code:


# Used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8). See the interfaces(5) manpage or
# /usr/share/doc/ifupdown/examples for more information.
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp




I run ubuntu. I'm going to try on another router later today, so i can find out if it is a problem with the router.
Logged

AutoStatic
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2009, 04:32:44 AM »

Which static IP did you assign to your plug? According to your interfaces file the plug still uses DHCP.
Logged

ebp
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 24


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2009, 08:31:27 AM »

It's actually dhcp but i can set the router to assign specific ip-addresses to specific mac-addresses
Logged

birdman
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 4
Posts: 443


View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2009, 06:58:44 PM »

You say you've forwarded ports.  But have you allowed the protocol through the firewall.
I have a ZyXel router and I need to setup both for incoming traffic to work. i.e. I have to both route it to the internal system I desire and allow it to pass from WAN to LAN.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2
Print
Jump to: