• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: D@ SD slot - Disk Utility does not see anything in slot  (Read 2105 times)
pwhalley

View Profile
« on: May 21, 2012, 09:30:40 PM »

Greetings all:

I am new to the D2 and want to use it as a home automation controller with MisterHouse.  I have other applications I want to explore as well so I would like to be able to change quickly and SIMPLY between application configs by swapping SD cards with different software loads and leave the 'stock' configuration (OS)largely unmolested 'till I am very confident that I know what I am doing and have confidence that if I break the software, I am also able to unbreak it quickly and easily. I will explore net boot options later.

The D2 came with 10.4 and I am staying there for the time being.  I have updated Ubuntu and done nothing else to the base config.

Disk Utility will not recognize the presence of a 16G and 8G micro SD card in 2 different adapters in the
SD slot.  The OS mounts the device in /media/ as expected and I can write and read to it there.  I have also tried 2G SD card 2G micro SD and a 16G SDHC I SanDisk Extreme Pro in the slot, and none show up in Disk Utility! The 2G SD and 2G micro SD won't show up at all in the SD slot but the 2G micro SD will show up in /media/ and in Disk Utility when in a USB adapter in any USB port (actually, any micro SD in the adapter is found in any USB port).

Has anyone else seen this kind of behavior?  I am at a loss to explain how the internal card reader is causing this problem unless it is a driver issue or a very particular defect in the reader...