• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Dreamplug lost networking  (Read 2964 times)
bazza14
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 16


View Profile
« on: December 29, 2011, 09:06:11 PM »

I've just got this plug and it initially worked ok. I then started updating the packages and installing new stuff using aptitude. Just after installing NTPD the network dropped out. I thought maybe one of the the packages aptitude had decided to erase was in fact needed. So I hooked up the jtag and had a look around but I couldn't see anything amiss but no matter what I tried I could not get networking up again. So I decided to start from scratch and reinstalled Debian using the instructions in Set Up a New Debian File System in DreamPlug which went OK but I still cant get the network to work.
I can use ifconfig to set up eth0 and using ifconfig it says it's up has an IP but i cant connect form the outside world.
If I set up /etc/network/interfaces to tell it to use dhcp on network restart it tries to obtain an address but monitoring the network with wireshark shows no traffic from the device. If I configure it for static ip on network restart I get
Code:
sheevaplug-debian:~# /etc/init.d/networking start
Configuring network interfaces...SIOCADDRT: Network is unreachable
Failed to bring up eth0.
I have a bit of experience with linux on Fedora which has a different way of controlling the network so I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong. Any help would be welcome.
Logged

bazza14
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2011, 03:11:02 AM »

Here's route and ifconfig staus. This should be working, what am I missing.

Code:
sheevaplug-debian:~# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 uap0
default         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
sheevaplug-debian:~# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr f0:ad:4e:00:94:47 
          inet addr:192.168.1.105  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:11

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:20 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:20 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1764 (1.7 KiB)  TX bytes:1764 (1.7 KiB)

uap0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:24:23:3e:fb:e0 
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

sheevaplug-debian:~# uname -a
Linux sheevaplug-debian 2.6.33.6 #1 PREEMPT Tue Feb 8 03:18:41 EST 2011 armv5tel GNU/Linux
sheevaplug-debian:~#
Logged

spinifex
Full Member
***

Karma: 8
Posts: 167



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2011, 05:41:35 AM »

try the other ethernet (eth1) which is at the end of the plug
Logged

spinifex
Full Member
***

Karma: 8
Posts: 167



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2011, 06:04:17 AM »

Quote
eth0   inet addr:192.168.1.105  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0

uap0   inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0


Disable the wifi at startup, comment out the call to init_setup.sh in /etc/rc.local and reboot
Logged

bazza14
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2011, 03:01:55 PM »

try the other ethernet (eth1) which is at the end of the plug
Now that's interesting in the user guide the ethernet closest to the end is identified as eth1 and the other is identified as eth2 so I assumed eth1 was eth0 and eth2 was eth1. We progress thanks.
Logged

bazza14
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2011, 03:26:21 PM »

Quote
eth0   inet addr:192.168.1.105  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0

uap0   inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0


Disable the wifi at startup, comment out the call to init_setup.sh in /etc/rc.local and reboot
I had considered that as a problem but didn't know where to switch it off or change it. Anyhoo when I started debugging this I moved to another work station and when I hooked it up I plugged the network into the wrong ethernet port  Grin so it was probably fixed many hours ago. Identifying them on the case would be helpful and also in the user guide. Thanks for your help.
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: