• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Debian DreamPlug: As Wireless AP  (Read 4572 times)
razza
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 3


View Profile
« on: July 27, 2011, 12:23:26 AM »

I want to use my plug as a wireless access point, it seems the recipes I have seen rely on the plug performing NAT (and being a DHCP server). I would like to configure the plug, so that the eth1 port is bridged to the Wireless (like an normal Wireless access point).
So.... clients connecting to the wireless would be on the same subnet as eth1, get their IP from a DHCP server sitting on another box on the network connected to eth1, etc.

Possible?
Any major security issues?
Logged

spinifex
Full Member
***

Karma: 8
Posts: 167



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2011, 04:11:28 AM »

My understanding is that dnsmasq can proxy to your existing DHCP and DNS servers.
It should just work.
If I get time I will try it tomorrow.
Logged

spinifex
Full Member
***

Karma: 8
Posts: 167



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2011, 05:41:18 PM »

I was wrong dnsmasq does not act as a DHCP relay.
However, you can work the AP on the same subnet by using dnsmasq to allocate a subrange of addtesses that your router does not allocate. This dnsmasq only solution works for me.

I tried, but cannot get isc-dhcp-relay to work for me (yet).

Has anyone else tried isc-dhcp-relay?
Logged

cbxbiker61
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 38
Posts: 497


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2011, 07:31:52 PM »

It's not too hard to bridge 2 eth adapters and pass dhcp through to another box.

I've set up an openwrt router to work exactly that way.  The one issue I had with passing dhcp had to do with the default firewall settings on the box.  Basically I disabled firewalling altogether and that allowed dhcp to pass through to the dhcp server.  Firewalling was absolutely unnecessary in this case since lan and wan are on the local net with no external exposure.  Wireless security, of course, is still important.
Logged

razza
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2011, 12:43:38 AM »

It's not too hard to bridge 2 eth adapters and pass dhcp through to another box..........

As i'm someone who is not great with Linux currently, any pointers?
Logged

pietsnot
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 41


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2011, 02:13:11 PM »

It's not too hard to bridge 2 eth adapters and pass dhcp through to another box..........

As i'm someone who is not great with Linux currently, any pointers?

just a little help; on your plug, in terminal session:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install bridge-utils

man brctl

sudo brctl
sudo brctl show
sudo brctl showbr

sudo brctl addbr ..
sudo brctl addif ..  (uap0 eth0 eth1 ..)
« Last Edit: July 30, 2011, 02:15:55 PM by pietsnot » Logged

[unbricked]2xguruplug-server+2xjtag>nslu2;debian squeeze; [4|8]gb mmc:rootFS+swapFS; sata-hd 2tb; Linux-kernel-2.6.35.12; U-Boot_2010.03-01266; iptables:FW+router+gw;dhcpd;sshd;sabnzbd;vsftpd;exim4;rTorrent; nfs[d]; autofs; xorg; icewm; iceweasel; xrdp; privoxy+tor; apache; smbd; mediatomb>pch-a110

razza
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2011, 01:01:36 AM »

Thank you so, so much for posting that Smiley

The following seems to get a bridge up and working -

brctl addbr razbridge
brctl addif razbridge eth1
brctl addif razbridge uap0
ifconfig uap0 0.0.0.0
ifconfig eth1 0.0.0.0
ifconfig razbridge 192.168.10.35 netmask 255.255.255.0 up

Thanks again! Now to play a bit more...... Smiley
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: