• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Anybody here successfully running apache2/php5 on ShPlg?  (Read 5749 times)
CqCn
Full Member
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 169



View Profile
« on: August 10, 2009, 01:33:11 PM »

Anybody here successfully running apache2/php5 on ShPlg?  I would like to hear about any experience.  I am planning on porting an extensive web site that has been stably running for years on a Slug.  Currently I have recently bought ShPlg, and all work is done by copying the image to a SDCard, and doing all the apt-get upgrades.  Not upgraded uboot; also the distribution version of *nix appears quite adequate for apache/php.

Any comments would be appreciated.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2009, 12:43:10 PM by CqCn » Logged

Cordially, CqCn

ianjb
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 0
Posts: 65


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2009, 01:54:08 PM »

Take a look at:
http://computingplugs.com/index.php/SheevaPlug_Real_time_Statistics

Quote
This website, computingplugs.com, runs entirely on the Sheeva Plug. I used Apache + MySQL + MediaWiki to host computingplugs.com. I have a WordPress plugin to MediaWiki that handles comments. I also use awstats to visualize the hosting stats.
Logged

CqCn
Full Member
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 169



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2009, 02:20:23 PM »

ianjb, Thank you!
Logged

Cordially, CqCn

naugtur
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2009, 08:14:40 AM »

Yup. the site is cool, and You can monitor it.

From my experience - I simply installed apache2/php5/mysql from repos and it was as easy as on any ubuntu. Apache seems memory-consuming, but it partially is just cache. I am planning to do some php5 execution time comparisons with a typical hosting (an account on a big server) and see if it's a large gap or a canyon Wink
You might want to avoid using gzip and jpeg functions in php as it does floating point math which is not the favourite activity for the Plug.
Logged

CqCn
Full Member
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 169



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2009, 10:14:47 AM »

You might want to avoid using gzip and jpeg functions in php as it does floating point math which is not the favourite activity for the Plug.
Thanks for that tip!  What would you suggest instead of jpeg?  I have a fairly large collection of images, and image uploads, and some image processing.  This might be the reason I had noticed an unexpected increase in image processing step time when I ported my website to the Slug (an even tinier box, also no FP) a few years ago.  Is there an image format that would reduce floating point processing?

Similarly for gzip?  I have been routinely using infozip.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2009, 10:16:41 AM by CqCn » Logged

Cordially, CqCn

mgillespie
Full Member
***

Karma: 8
Posts: 239



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2009, 10:46:05 AM »

Have you considered Lighttpd rather than Apache?  It works just fine with PHP, and does pretty much everything Apache does without the bloat.  It's good enough that Google use it to host YouTube and it's also powering Wikipedia...

http://www.lighttpd.net/

I have it runnning on my plug just fine, and it was MUCH simplier to setup than Apache, with it's convoluted configuration files...
Logged

SgtPepper
Newbie
*

Karma: 2
Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2009, 11:15:28 AM »

For what it's worth, I'm running a photo gallery on my plug with apache2+mysql+php5 (sudo tasksel install lamp-server && sudo apt-get install gallery2).  The photo resizing is slower than before, but my 1000+ photos were resized to 4 (some of them 5) different sizes in about a half hour.  Besides, that only needs to happen once per photo, so it's not that big of a limiting factor.  The gallery is definitely limited by my internet connection (1.5 Mbps , 256 Kbps up) rather than the plug, and I suspect it still would be on a bit faster pipe (load is not very high at all currently - except when I was resizing all of the 1000+ photos in one request).
Logged

CqCn
Full Member
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 169



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2009, 01:10:56 PM »

Have you considered Lighttpd rather than Apache?  It works just fine with PHP, and does pretty much everything Apache does without the bloat. 
Yes, long time ago I had tried Lighthttpd extensively on the Slug. At that time was no fulll php available on the slug. 

On Lighthttpd, there were many missing functionality; most likely because I was porting a site with scripting that was already done. Now I need the full Apache functionality.  If I had started from L., perhaps I could make it work. I cannot remember what broke the deal.  I had multiple domains, virtual domains, plus secure logins...  Yes I do like the small footprint in general, but php is still free and in continuing improvement.  BTW, I remember the performance stats on L. was not that good when there were multiple servers running...  The reason most people end up using lighthttpd is because it is very simple to configure and setup for a simple server.  Thanks anyway.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2010, 10:42:11 AM by CqCn » Logged

Cordially, CqCn

naugtur
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2010, 01:05:33 AM »

Sorry for the delay, I just forgot to take a look.

Well, there's nothing to suggest instead of JPEG. I just said JPEG is loads of floating-point calculation and the plug has no FPU, so it's slow. Uploading and storing is ok, but decoding and saving jpeg images will take a lot more time. There's nothing you can do.

... or try PNG if php supports it. The images are bigger, but less CPU intensive in decoding and encoding.
Logged

CqCn
Full Member
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 169



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2010, 10:49:25 AM »

Sorry for the delay, I just forgot to take a look.

Well, there's nothing to suggest instead of JPEG. I just said JPEG is loads of floating-point calculation and the plug has no FPU, so it's slow. Uploading and storing is ok, but decoding and saving jpeg images will take a lot more time. There's nothing you can do.

... or try PNG if php supports it. The images are bigger, but less CPU intensive in decoding and encoding.


naugtur, Your timing is interesting!  After having been away for a long time from using the plug, I am just back and was going to check on the status of apache+php versions on the plug.  I have just finished installing and testing another critical application of mine on the plug in the last couple of days, and apache2+php is the next critical one.

I may have to live with the slower pace of jpg.  For my users, many having very little internet bandwidth from the far corners of the world, image bandwidth reduction is more important for their browsing experience.

Anybody know how current is the Apapche+php on the plug?  Any known issues?
Logged

Cordially, CqCn

adodis127
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: October 21, 2010, 11:18:55 PM »

I simply installed apache2/php5/mysql from repos and it was as easy as on any ubuntu. Apache seems memory-consuming, but it partially is just cache. I am planning to do some php5 execution time comparisons with a typical hosting (an account on a big server) and see if it's a large gap or a canyon Wink
You might want to avoid using gzip and jpeg functions in php as it does floating point math which is not the favourite activity for the Plug.

Newsletter Software
Logged

michel111
Guest
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2010, 10:27:42 PM »

Install PHP5. Unzip php-5.0.4-Win32.zip and copy to C:\php with directory. open C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\conf\httpd.conf .
Logged

pacolm
Full Member
***

Karma: 1
Posts: 102


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2010, 02:39:22 AM »

Install PHP5. Unzip php-5.0.4-Win32.zip and copy to C:\php with directory. open C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\conf\httpd.conf .

I'm really impressed, he has installed windows in the guruplug.............. Shocked  Shocked  Cheesy  Cheesy  Cheesy  Grin  Grin  Grin  Grin
Logged

CqCn
Full Member
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 169



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2010, 05:00:27 PM »

I simply installed apache2/php5/mysql from repos and it was as easy as on any ubuntu. Apache seems memory-consuming, but it partially is just cache. I am planning to do some php5 execution time comparisons with a typical hosting (an account on a big server) and see if it's a large gap or a canyon Wink
You might want to avoid using gzip and jpeg functions in php as it does floating point math which is not the favourite activity for the Plug.

Newsletter Software

I just want to report, that after my enquiry here a couple of months ago, I have been able to port an apache2/php5 server application successfully.  It runs well and quite fast.  My server, while fairly extensive, still does not need all the 0.5GB of memory, so most things stay in cache.  I was previously running this on another micro server, with a memory of 32 MB Smiley
Logged

Cordially, CqCn

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: