• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: A few problems  (Read 4366 times)
bncapps
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 13


View Profile WWW
« on: July 23, 2009, 06:57:05 PM »

Okay so I FINALLY got my sheevaplug after about 4 months, paid express shipping and everything, and had to pay a $25 duty fee at the door :/

Okay so it has Debian linux, should I upgrade to ubuntu? If so, is there a step by step tutorial anywhere as I can not find one

Currently I am running it all off the internal flash, but I plan on getting a SD and external harddrive soon

I was told to install lighttpd, so i tried to remove apache2, but it seems to stay, so whatever i stopped the service and installed lighttpd, php5, mysql-server, mysql-client

I can access the main index.html page (the one that says it works) but if i try to access ANY other file it says 403 - foribben...i just cant figure it out why, i even tried giving the entire folder 777 permissions...nothing

I also tried installing phpmyadmin, it installs fine...but how do i access it? I remember for my old windows server runing apache it was just http://HOST/phpmyadmin, but it dosnt seem to be the same on this thing

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

EDIT: Okay, I got lighttpd to finally work with php and phpsysinfo is running fine (but VERY slow to load, i guess its because it loads all that javascript to switch templates on the fly, i should modify it to load only one)...still cant figure out how to get phpmyadmin to work!

EDIT: Okay I got phpmyadmin to work! Just had to add:
alias.url = ( /phpmyadmin/ => /usr/share/phpmyadmin/)
Into my lighttpd config

But Where can i find the mysql password? I tried all the possible defaults...nothing
« Last Edit: July 23, 2009, 07:45:45 PM by bncapps » Logged

http://www.BncApps.com - Open source applications and programming blog
http://BrandonBlogs.com - I explain how I make money online so YOU can make money online!

restamp
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 4
Posts: 273


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2009, 08:01:11 PM »

Okay so I FINALLY got my sheevaplug after about 4 months, paid express shipping and everything, and had to pay a $25 duty fee at the door :/
Congrats, hope you enjoy it!

Quote
Okay so it has Debian linux, should I upgrade to ubuntu? If so, is there a step by step tutorial anywhere as I can not find one
My personal opinion:  The Ubuntu branch works better.  Example:  Ubuntu recognizes every USB device I've tried attaching.  The Debian default load didn't.  One area where the default load is superior:  It makes use of the Marvell chip's hardware crypto engine, something that hasn't made it into the Ubuntu release yet.

My advice on upgrading:  Use the latest copy of Rabeeh's installer program.  You can find more information here.

Quote
Currently I am running it all off the internal flash, but I plan on getting a SD and external harddrive soon
I think you'll find either is a faster solution than the internal NAND memory.  And, they are replaceable:  On my system, I find that even when it is quiescent, it is averaging a write to the root FS every 45 seconds or so.  So, by using an SDcard or USB device as your root FS, you are saving a fair amount of wear-and-tear on the non-user-replaceable NAND.

Good luck!
Logged

bncapps
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 13


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2009, 08:05:10 PM »

Okay so I FINALLY got my sheevaplug after about 4 months, paid express shipping and everything, and had to pay a $25 duty fee at the door :/
Congrats, hope you enjoy it!

Quote
Okay so it has Debian linux, should I upgrade to ubuntu? If so, is there a step by step tutorial anywhere as I can not find one
My personal opinion:  The Ubuntu branch works better.  Example:  Ubuntu recognizes every USB device I've tried attaching.  The Debian default load didn't.  One area where the default load is superior:  It makes use of the Marvell chip's hardware crypto engine, something that hasn't made it into the Ubuntu release yet.

My advice on upgrading:  Use the latest copy of Rabeeh's installer program.  You can find more information here.

Quote
Currently I am running it all off the internal flash, but I plan on getting a SD and external harddrive soon
I think you'll find either is a faster solution than the internal NAND memory.  And, they are replaceable:  On my system, I find that even when it is quiescent, it is averaging a write to the root FS every 45 seconds or so.  So, by using an SDcard or USB device as your root FS, you are saving a fair amount of wear-and-tear on the non-user-replaceable NAND.

Good luck!

What good is this Crypto engine?
If it dosnt seem like something I need, I will go ahead and install ubuntu right away!

Thanks.
Logged

http://www.BncApps.com - Open source applications and programming blog
http://BrandonBlogs.com - I explain how I make money online so YOU can make money online!

restamp
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 4
Posts: 273


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2009, 08:14:47 PM »

I doubt the lack of access to the crypto engine will affect many people.  It might be significant if you intend to run encrypted disks.  Earlier, I compiled the following list of apps that *might* benefit from the engine:

+ dm_crypt
+ openssh
+ openssl
+ apache (via openssl?)
+ loopback devices
+ rsync
+ IPsec
+ /dev/crypto

I'm not even sure which of these are tied to hardware encryption under the default load.  In any event, for most folks it is probably not an important criteria.  But, hey, the hardware is there, so I'd personally like to take advantage of it.  (But, not enough to keep me from moving to Ubuntu!)

YMMV
Logged

bncapps
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 13


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2009, 08:30:13 PM »

I doubt the lack of access to the crypto engine will affect many people.  It might be significant if you intend to run encrypted disks.  Earlier, I compiled the following list of apps that *might* benefit from the engine:

+ dm_crypt
+ openssh
+ openssl
+ apache (via openssl?)
+ loopback devices
+ rsync
+ IPsec
+ /dev/crypto

I'm not even sure which of these are tied to hardware encryption under the default load.  In any event, for most folks it is probably not an important criteria.  But, hey, the hardware is there, so I'd personally like to take advantage of it.  (But, not enough to keep me from moving to Ubuntu!)

YMMV

Okay well I dont really need any type of encryption

I will move over to Ubuntu once I get my SD card, I currently only have mac and windows but I can just emulate linux to get the thing installed. Is there a specific distro build of ubuntu i need to run oin the plug? Or will any one do? (So can I download one to emulate to get it installed, while installing the same one? ...kk nvm as I type this I know there is a different one...)

So can you point me in the right direction to getting the corrent ubuntu build I would need to install on the plug?

And which distro of linux should i run on my virtual machine to install it? Like, which one would be the smallest download for my needs?



Also, do you know how I can get the password for mysql? After I installed it, it gave me no way to choose my password or anything and none of the defaults work.


Thanks again
Logged

http://www.BncApps.com - Open source applications and programming blog
http://BrandonBlogs.com - I explain how I make money online so YOU can make money online!

restamp
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 4
Posts: 273


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2009, 10:07:39 PM »

If you are successful at using the alpha-6 installer from a virtual machine, please let us know the particulars.  I'd think the VM would have trouble with the SheevaPlug's serial USB port (which actually presents two devices:  the console and the JTAG interface).

The Alpha-6 installer instructions can be found here.  It installs the 2.6.30-rc6 load, which is actually quite good.

For the latest and greatest Ubuntu, see http://plugcomputer.org/plugforum/index.php?topic=514.0

mysql password?  Is there one?  Try "mysql -u root" (without the -p).  If not that, I don't know.
Logged

joosty
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2009, 01:04:57 AM »

I used a vm of Debian 5.0 running in Windows XP to connect to the serial of the plug. Works, no problems. Just make sure the VM has the focus when you insert the usb cable, vmware will then allow the vm to use the usb.
Logged

bncapps
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 13


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2009, 08:55:23 AM »

Im sure getting it to connect wont be a problem, im using parallels on mac and conencted to it through emulating windows

I should get a sd card today
I cant figure out why mysql refuses to work! ahh
Logged

http://www.BncApps.com - Open source applications and programming blog
http://BrandonBlogs.com - I explain how I make money online so YOU can make money online!

bncapps
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 13


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2009, 08:57:11 AM »

Ok this is weird

If i do the uname -a command i get this:
Linux debian 2.6.22.18 #1 Thu Mar 19 14:46:22 IST 2009 armv5tejl GNU/Linux

If i take a look at phpsysinfo it says:
Ubunto 9.04


So which one is it? lol
Logged

http://www.BncApps.com - Open source applications and programming blog
http://BrandonBlogs.com - I explain how I make money online so YOU can make money online!

bncapps
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 13


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2009, 08:45:02 AM »

Well does anybody know?
Logged

http://www.BncApps.com - Open source applications and programming blog
http://BrandonBlogs.com - I explain how I make money online so YOU can make money online!

restamp
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 4
Posts: 273


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2009, 09:11:33 AM »

It is...

A Linux debian 2.6.22.18 kernel, running with a Ubuntu (it really doesn't say Ubunto, does it?) root filesystem, on an armv5tejl processor.  Hmm, mine says armv5tel... wonder what the difference is.
Logged

bncapps
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 13


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2009, 10:36:00 AM »

It is...

A Linux debian 2.6.22.18 kernel, running with a Ubuntu (it really doesn't say Ubunto, does it?) root filesystem, on an armv5tejl processor.  Hmm, mine says armv5tel... wonder what the difference is.

Yeah mine says Ubuntu in phpsysinfo and Debian if i do the command

So do I have to upgrade to the ubuntu thing like the link you showed me? Or do I already have it? phpsysinfo says I have Ubuntu 9.04
Logged

http://www.BncApps.com - Open source applications and programming blog
http://BrandonBlogs.com - I explain how I make money online so YOU can make money online!

restamp
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 4
Posts: 273


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2009, 11:35:26 AM »

You are still on the initial Linux load that came with the Plug, right?

As I recall, I was a bit surprised to see Debian on my Plug initially, but with the package manager (apt-get) set up to access the Ubuntu repository.

However, I think of Ubuntu as just a bleeding-edge Debian, so a Debian kernel will probably work well enough with a Ubuntu load as long as it is recent enough.

The decision to upgrade is something you'll have to decide for yourself.
Logged

tbm
Full Member
***

Karma: 7
Posts: 121



View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2009, 02:02:22 PM »

2.6.22.18 is not a Debian kernel; it's probably a Marvell kernel.
Logged

restamp
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 4
Posts: 273


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2009, 08:49:59 PM »

Oops, my bad.  I forgot "debian" is the default hostname that the Plug ships with, which is what the uname command is displaying.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2
Print
Jump to: