• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: new user - some questions  (Read 1868 times)
hedphelym
Newbie
*

Karma: -1
Posts: 6


View Profile
« on: January 21, 2011, 09:11:40 AM »

Hi, I got my sheevaplug sata yesterday, very pleased with it  (I bought the 7" touch screen too).

It's got Debian sqeeze installed, working just fine.. Smiley

But I do have some questions.

1) How can I do a full backup\restore of SD card? ( Can I for instance use Clonezilla? is there any windows apps that can do this (free..).
2) The screen's resolution is low, so when I vnc into it the vnc has the same low resolution, is there a way around this?
    Is there a way to connect to VNC without having a screen?
3) The plug locks up if I disconnect the usb screen or just turn it off (the screen), anyone else that has this problem?

that's it for now.. Smiley
Logged

radael
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 1
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2011, 01:31:36 PM »

PlugPBX uses SD cards for it's root file system.  They have information about SD card imaging at http://www.plugpbx.org/?page_id=110.  Probably there is discussion about backup/restore on their forum pages http://forums.plugpbx.org/.

Sorry, I don't know anything about the other two questions.
Logged

hedphelym
Newbie
*

Karma: -1
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2011, 02:18:07 PM »

perfect, that was what I was looking for.
Now I've got a perfect image of my SD and can do stuff without being afraid of messing things up.

I saw some other posts about "headless x server" and VNC, I'll look more into that.

thanks for the pointer about imaging the SD card.
Logged

hedphelym
Newbie
*

Karma: -1
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2011, 03:05:38 AM »

Xrdp seemed perfect, it did exactly what I needed ( remote desktop "full desktop") but the
problem is that it messes up the keyboard, so it's useless. I've tried all fixes that they post,
but none work..

see info here:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xrdp/+bug/320393

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=xrdp+keyboard+error
Logged

hedphelym
Newbie
*

Karma: -1
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2011, 10:41:42 AM »

Everything is now working great Smiley

I installed X11vnc - this enables remote desktop without any screen.

first I ssh into the plug, then start vnc server from there and log in through thightvnc client.
the resolution on desktop is very acceptable and useable.

So now I'll see if the uptime is better now that screen is detached.
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: