• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: boot menu or similar? for u-boot  (Read 1881 times)
tmk

View Profile
« on: April 12, 2009, 11:12:26 PM »

Hi,

I'm new to u-boot and ARM in general. I'm just about to embark on some customization, and i'd like to be able to set up a grub or lilo style boot menu to ease the pain of switching between boot locations.

Any tips? How can i make it print out a list of options, eg:

Code:
type "run local" to boot local, or wait 3 seconds
type "run nfs" to boot from nfs
type "run nfs-unstable" to boot from nfs, using unstable kernel
type "run sd" to boot from sd
type "run usb" to boot from usb

... and have those options do the right thing?

if someone has a url explaining it, that would be great as well.

thanks
-tmk

superpat

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2009, 01:08:16 AM »

Uboot is a bit more than just a boot utility.
Have a look at the list of commands.
Here is the manual

www.denx.de/wiki/DULG/Manual

P Smiley

finkployd

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2009, 11:43:36 AM »

I've configured something like a multiboot on my plug.  Take a look at the post here : http://openplug.org/plugforum/index.php?topic=36.msg264#msg264

There is no way (that I know of) to actually create and display a bootmenu, but you can get into the U-Boot environment and execute a 'run boot_sd' or 'run boot_nfs' with the way I have it configured.  If you could find a method to stop autoboot and run a few echo commands after initialization I suppose it would work as a makeshift bootmenu but I have not seen such functionality in the documentation.  However you will probably want to leave autoboot enabled and a default bootcmd set, otherwise you will need the console connected everytime the plug boots.

tmk

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2009, 07:44:55 AM »