• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Guruplug as accesspoint on non-default network not connecting  (Read 2513 times)
lyzby
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 48


View Profile
« on: September 11, 2010, 03:44:49 PM »

I'm trying to set up a guruplug as an access point on a network other than the default.  The gateway on this network is 192.168.10.1. I've been able to connect to the accesspoint, but with no connectivity to the internet.

In /etc/network/interfaces, I've set eth0 to 192.168.10.118, and uap0 to 192.168.10.179.  I changed /etc/resolv.conf to "nameserver 192.168.10.1".  I can ssh in to the eth0 ip and ping www.google.com.  So the guruplug has access to the internet on this network.

I left uap0 unsecured for testing.  I've modified /root/init_setup.sh to provide the ssid "Network101" and the ip to 192.168.10.179. 

I edited /etc/udhcpd.conf and changed all the references to the 192.168.10 subnet.  Network101 appears on my laptop, and I can connect to it.  But then I cannot connect to the internet through my browser, and
cannot successfully ping www.google.com or 192.168.10.1.

An odd thing is that iwconfig says "no wireless extensions" for uap0.  "uaputl sys_config" correctly reports the ssid and other parameters.

Any thoughts on what else I need to do to get this to work?
Logged

sfzhi
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 1
Posts: 83


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2010, 07:14:19 AM »

An odd thing is that iwconfig says "no wireless extensions" for uap0.  "uaputl sys_config" correctly reports the ssid and other parameters.
This is not odd at all. The uap driver does not use the "normal" Linux wireless framework.

I don't think your problem has anything to do with uap. It looks more like generic routing/NAT problem, but the information you provided is not enough to say anything specific.
Logged

Lack of knowledge is not such a big problem, unwillingness to learn is.

lyzby
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 48


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2010, 04:26:00 PM »

What information can I provide that would be more diagnostic?

The output of "iptables -L" is as follows:
target     prot opt source               destination
ACCEPT     tcp  --  anywhere             anywhere            tcp dpt:www

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination
« Last Edit: September 12, 2010, 04:32:41 PM by lyzby » Logged

sfzhi
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 1
Posts: 83


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2010, 01:43:54 AM »

There is more to it than just "iptables -L".
To begin with, what is the output of
Code:
iptables -t nat -L
and
Code:
cat /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
and
Code:
ip addr
?
Logged

Lack of knowledge is not such a big problem, unwillingness to learn is.

lyzby
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 48


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2010, 09:31:00 AM »

Thanks.  Here are the outputs.  Unfortunately, I don't know exactly what I am looking for.

#iptables -t nat -L
Chain PREROUTING (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

Chain POSTROUTING (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination
MASQUERADE  all  --  anywhere             anywhere
MASQUERADE  all  --  anywhere             anywhere

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

#cat /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
1

# ip addr
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:50:43:01:83:a8 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.10.118/24 brd 192.168.10.255 scope global eth0
    inet6 fe80::250:43ff:fe01:83a8/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: eth1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UNKNOWN qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:50:43:01:83:a9 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.10.78/32 brd 192.168.10.255 scope global eth1
4: uap0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:24:23:1f:b4:29 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.10.179/24 brd 192.168.10.255 scope global uap0
    inet6 fe80::224:23ff:fe1f:b429/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
5: pan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN
    link/ether b6:86:8d:84:38:22 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

Logged

sfzhi
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 1
Posts: 83


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2010, 10:47:02 AM »

Chain POSTROUTING (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination
MASQUERADE  all  --  anywhere             anywhere
MASQUERADE  all  --  anywhere             anywhere
Masquerading everything from anywhere to anywhere? This just doesn't make any sense. Where are those rules coming from? Did you change anything in the startup scripts or in the system configuration?

Another problem is that eth0 and uap0 are on the same subnet. This is not going to work without some advanced tweaking. You don't want to go that way. Either you should assign addresses on different subnets, so that normal routing can take place, or use bridging.

By the way, I'm not sure I understand what exactly you are trying to accomplish. What do you call "non-default network"?
Logged

Lack of knowledge is not such a big problem, unwillingness to learn is.

lyzby
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 48


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2010, 02:41:28 PM »

>What do you call "non-default" network?

All that I wished to do was set up wireless on a network which has a gateway of 192.168.10.1 and not use for the AP an ip of 192.168.1.1.  I may through ignorance gone about it in very roundabout (as well as unsuccessful) way.

I tried a number of hints from various threads, and did not save my starting point, so now I don't know what the original iptable settings were, or what changed them to the present values.

How you suggest I proceed?  (And thanks for you patience.)  I can, if need be, re-install debian on the guruplug.




Logged

sfzhi
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 1
Posts: 83


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2010, 01:13:26 AM »

How you suggest I proceed?  (And thanks for you patience.)  I can, if need be, re-install debian on the guruplug.
I think you could start with restoring the system to a known-good state. So re-installing the OS may be a good idea.
Then you can begin to adjust the configuration to suit your needs, while keeping track of what you have changed so far.

A piece of advice if you don't mind. Try not to follow any "recipes" you find online without understanding first what exactly they do. It may seem too difficult, but it can spare you a great deal of trouble.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2010, 01:16:44 AM by sfzhi » Logged

Lack of knowledge is not such a big problem, unwillingness to learn is.

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: