• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: [resolved] Guruplug not getting its IP address from my router  (Read 2136 times)
velo_love
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 15


View Profile
« on: June 11, 2010, 03:36:20 PM »

Hi,

I am just starting to play with my heater  Tongue following some posts in the forum but I have some problems with the IP address.

I set my router (running DD-WRT) so it should give a static IP to my Guruplug (association between the Guruplug eth0 MAC and the IP). I already do this for my PC and my laptop and it works. But it fails with my Guruplug Server+.

The original /root/init_setup.sh file is fully disabled (all lines are commented).

This is my /etc/network/interfaces file:
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

When I run dhclient, I have:
Code:
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.pid with pid 2251
killed old client process, removed PID file
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth1/00:50:43:01:8f:6d
Sending on   LPF/eth1/00:50:43:01:8f:6d
Listening on LPF/eth0/00:50:43:01:8f:6c
Sending on   LPF/eth0/00:50:43:01:8f:6c
Sending on   Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
DHCPREQUEST on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
DHCPACK from 192.168.1.1
bound to 192.168.1.107 -- renewal in 49 seconds.

As a result, I got the IP @ 192.168.1.107 while I expect 192.168.1.12 as defined in my router for the Guruplug MAC @ 00:50:43:01:8f:6c.

Any ideas?  Huh

Thank you for your support and best regards.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 10:14:37 AM by velo_love » Logged

fragfutter
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 12
Posts: 280


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2010, 12:47:07 AM »

the initial setup of the heater (yeah! i like this one) is bad. If i remember correctly, it is running a local dhcpd and ifplugd.

Ifplugd is interessting if you move the plug around a lot while it is running. Makes sense? No! so remove it. And as the plug is not your main dhcp server, remove the dhcp server also

Code:
heater:~ update-rc.d -f ifplugd remove
 Removing any system startup links for /etc/init.d/ifplugd ...
heater:~ update-rc.d -f udhcpd remove
 Removing any system startup links for /etc/init.d/udhcpd ...

if you completely disable the init_setup.sh you might better just comment out the call in /etc/rc.local
Logged

velo_love
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2010, 10:14:19 AM »

Hi fragfutter,

the initial setup of the heater (yeah! i like this one) is bad. If i remember correctly, it is running a local dhcpd and ifplugd.

Ifplugd is interessting if you move the plug around a lot while it is running. Makes sense? No! so remove it. And as the plug is not your main dhcp server, remove the dhcp server also

Yes, indeed, that did the trick! Thank you very much for your support.

if you completely disable the init_setup.sh you might better just comment out the call in /etc/rc.local

I almost disabled the init_setup.sh file: I only keep the line to switch on the "health" LED  Grin
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: