• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: SheevaPlug Development seemed to be in reset mode...  (Read 5649 times)
solstice
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 17


View Profile
« on: April 04, 2009, 11:54:51 PM »

I tried to use the Pluggable computer through the diagnostic USB port through COM1 and nothing came up in the console. So, I tried to use TRACE32 to download U-boot into the device. Trace 32 detected the processor as in reset mode. Since I could communicate to the USB chip port but not the device afterward, I suspect the Marvell processor may be in reset mode.

Have anyone experience this problem? Is this normal?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Logged

solstice
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2009, 08:32:51 PM »

It turns out the device was working properly. I can access both U-boot and the Ubuntu version of the device. The tricky thing is to plug in the USB in the computer. Then hot plug the device to power. After that, immediately get your terminal program to connect (after USB detection and etc.) Wait for a while since the boot time is slow to make sure you can capture that. Oh, I wish they had a little button on the outside to do reset only on the Marvell's CPU such that this would not be so tricky to play with.
Logged

kilowatt
Global Moderator
Full Member
*****

Karma: 3
Posts: 106


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2009, 09:59:20 AM »

You can reset it by inserting a straightened out paper clip in the little hole on the side of the SheevaPlug.  the hole is near the LEDs on the side opposite the side with the SDcard slot.  There is a little reset push button switch behind that hole.
Logged

tlynch99
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2009, 11:31:19 AM »

Had the same problem, Turned on for the first time, nothing out the serial debug port, no link light when Ethernet cable was plugged in.  Pressed the paper clip / small hole reset button, and that didn't seem to help at all.  Opened the plug up pressed the big red reset button, and it seemed to work. 
Logged

bfmorgan
Guest
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2009, 12:27:50 PM »

I also had to open up the plug and hit the large red button. It happened after the initial power cycle's reboot. Everything has been working after that.

This device it cool
Logged

noidea
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2011, 12:30:34 PM »

I know that this thread is /very/ old, but it seems that I have the same issue.
I made this topic http://plugcomputer.org/plugforum/index.php?topic=2320.0 a while ago and it seems I have the same issue.

However, I cannot find a big red button in my sheevaplug.
Can anyone take a picture or describer where it might be?

Thank you!
Logged

noidea
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2011, 01:52:45 PM »

I couldn't find an edit button so I'm making another post.

I my plug's PCB says its a 'power plug rev 1.3' just like the one found here.

I can provide any extra info if asked.
Thanks.
Logged

two9er
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 10
Posts: 51


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2011, 01:59:59 PM »

You have a bad link there.

http://plugcomputer.org/plugforum/index.php?topic=683.msg4148#msg4148

Bottom photo, 6525.JPG upper right corner on the top edge, labeled SW1 RESET

HTH, Jim
Logged

Just plugging away! GuruPlug Server Plus, 1TB esata hd, 8GB microSD (rfs)

noidea
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2011, 03:15:21 PM »

You have a bad link there.

http://plugcomputer.org/plugforum/index.php?topic=683.msg4148#msg4148

Bottom photo, 6525.JPG upper right corner on the top edge, labeled SW1 RESET

HTH, Jim

Thank you for pointing that out.
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: