• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: Moving from NSLU2 to the Plug?  (Read 5420 times)
feffer

View Profile
« on: April 23, 2010, 09:26:05 PM »

I've been using the NSLU2 for two years, and want to transition to the Plug. I have a standard SheevaPlug and a GuruPlug+ on order (coming soon, I hope). Though I've been studying the wiki and forum about how to set my Plug up, I'm still confused. My NSLU2 is connected to a hdd which has Debian system files on a small partition and data files on a big one. The NSLU2 is always on, and the hdd spins up when used and spins down when inactive for 20 min. I mostly like this setup and hope to get something similar working on the Plug.

What I want to do with the Plug that I currently do on the NSLU2: 1) Backup server   2) Music server -- via daap  3) Print server.

New things I also want to do on the Plug:  1) File server   2) Mail server   3) Run Dropbox   4) VPN and/or SSH tunnel to remotely access mail and files   5) Possibly TwonkyMedia server for a PS3   6) Possibly a Bit torrent server