• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: GuruPlug Plus as a wireless router  (Read 3257 times)
phaoost
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 2


View Profile
« on: March 24, 2010, 04:24:41 AM »

Hi,

does anyone know if there a possibility to run GuruPlug Plus as a wireless router using built-in wifi? Or shall I need another external wifi adapter for that?
Logged

fragfutter
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 12
Posts: 280


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2010, 08:15:21 AM »

it is unknown if the integrated wifi adapter can run in master mode. Propably not, but we'll only know when the plug ships.

Logged

phaoost
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2010, 08:17:25 AM »

Well, that would be good to hear from developers before you buy
Logged

obarthelemy
Newbie
*

Karma: 2
Posts: 34


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2010, 10:55:40 AM »

The wifi chip is a Marvel 88w8688 (http://www.globalscaletechnologies.com/t-guruplugdetails.aspx#block)

the tech specs say nothing specifically about Master mode (http://www.marvell.com/products/wireless/8688.pdf), but the marketing blurb (http://www.marvell.com/company/news/press_detail.html?releaseID=1237) does:

"The Marvell 88W8688 provides a Marvell mobile hotspot mode that can be used to transform any CE device with an Internet connection into a wireless hotspot; this feature is optimized for very low power consumption on battery-powered CE devices."

So the answer is probably yes. Probably ...
Logged

madman2003
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2010, 12:08:19 PM »

I haven't seen any evidence that master mode will work (the driver makes no mention of it as far as i can tell). If it were supported it would be mentioned in the datasheet.
Logged

obarthelemy
Newbie
*

Karma: 2
Posts: 34


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2010, 01:03:42 PM »

what else could the "mobile hotspot" mode be ?

This is not a troll, I'm really wondering... BT instead of Wifi ?
Logged

birdman
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 4
Posts: 443


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2010, 05:40:40 PM »

There's probably a difference between the hardware being able to do it and the driver being written and configurable to make it happen.
Logged

Mootif1
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2010, 12:49:09 PM »

I just found new Guruplug pages from Wiki. Please look at
http://plugcomputer.org/plugwiki/index.php/Recreating_the_GuruPlug_RFS

In that page it says:

"By default, the RFS boots up within an AP mode with the SSID GuruPlug-4E2F (where 4E2F are the least significant two bytes of the MAC Address). The GuruPlug acts as a wireless router and treats the wired interface as the WAN interface."

 
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: