• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Is there a good high speed hub for the sheevaplug ?  (Read 1443 times)
peter a
Full Member
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 132


View Profile
« on: March 13, 2010, 03:51:52 PM »

Hi , I`ve tried using 2 hubs so far and finished up with 2 different results.
The first hub works , but looks like it`s working at usb 1 standard because it is very very slow only about 1 meg /sec , while the other hub gives errors .
Code:
  usb 1-1.4.3: reset high speed USB device using orion-ehci and address 33
sd 4:0:0:0: [sdb] Unhandled error code
sd 4:0:0:0: [sdb] Result: hostbyte=0x07 driverbyte=0x00
sd 4:0:0:0: [sdb] CDB: cdb[0]=0x28: 28 00 00 60 00 2f 00 00 10 00
end_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 6291503
__ratelimit: 6 callbacks suppressed
Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 6291440
Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 6291441
Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 6291442
Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 6291443
Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 6291444
Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 6291445
Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 6291446
Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 6291447
Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 6291448
Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 6291449
It`s working without a hub, it`s there hubs which work with the sheevaplug and some don`t ?
Logged

restamp
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 4
Posts: 273


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2010, 05:59:50 PM »

I've used a D-Link 7-port USB 2.0 powered hub, DUB-H7, for the better part of a year with good results.  It has a 3 amp power supply and I am currently running two USB-powered external drives and a couple prologic serial-to-USB devices.  They all seem to work fine.  I cannot boot from a device on the hub, but I don't know of any hub that the Uboot is capable of booting through.  Once booted, though, Linux has no trouble recognizing the bub and utilizing the devices connected to it.

With all the talk about the wimpy power supplies on the Plugs, if mine dies, I might even try utilizing the D-Link's 5V power brick to power the Plug as well as its USB devices.  Good luck.
Logged

peter a
Full Member
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 132


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2010, 02:29:31 AM »

I think that could be my problem, I`ve got 2 unknown unbranded versions.
I`ll see if I can get that model from anywhere .
Can`t see why it won`t boot off the hub , but that isn`t a problem for me having the Esata to boot off.

Logged

joosty
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2010, 03:09:25 AM »

I can confirm the 'pickiness' of the Plug with regards to USB hubs. I had a sitecom hub, but it disconnected every now and then (it worked fine with my old NSLU2). I bought a brand new USB hub: Dlink DUB-H4, which is working fine.

Joost
Logged

birdman
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 4
Posts: 443


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2010, 05:58:52 PM »

I have a 4-port (optionally-powered) Belkin hub that works OK
Shows up as this in lsusb:
Quote
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0409:005a NEC Corp. HighSpeed Hub
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: