• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Communicaton Verification With Sheeva  (Read 3280 times)
stripedtomato

View Profile
« on: March 03, 2010, 09:56:02 PM »

Hello.......Sheeva Newbie here,

This could be either hw or sw. I was not sure, which is why I posted here first.

I have my Sheeva hooked to my host system via the serial/USB cable, and I am using PuTTY to access it.  Is there a way to "ping" the Sheeva through PuTTY to verify it is happy with the connection, and ready to accept commands?  Shouldn't the Sheeva respond in some way back to the host system, even if you type nonsense and hit enter?

When I disconnect the serial/USB cable from the Sheeva, PuTTY responds by saying the connection has been lost, so I know that the connection was OK according to PuTTY, but  I cannot tell if the Sheeva is trying to accept commands because I am not getting any response (good or bad) back from the Sheeva.

Thanks!

restamp
Global Moderator

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2010, 10:27:30 AM »

It's also unclear whether you are running PuTTY from a Unix environment or from Windows.  Further, it not clear what you are trying to use PuTTY for.    (PuTTY is normally used to talk to the Sheeva's console via a serial port reflected through the USB connection.  However, the JTAG interface is also reflected through this connection, and your comments about accepting commands and pinging sort of imply you are trying to access the latter, although I think PuTTY is inappropriate to this task.)

First, have you set up your USB configuration correctly on the host?  Have you reviewed the following:
http://www.openplug.org/plugwiki/index.php/Serial_terminal_program
http://www.openplug.org/plugwiki/index.php/Load_Serial_Drivers_Automatically_Using_udev