• Home
  • Help
  • Search
  • Login
  • Register
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Problem with system on sdhc-card  (Read 7116 times)
gregorg
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 2


View Profile
« on: December 01, 2009, 09:14:20 AM »

Hi!

I followed http://www.cyrius.com/debian/kirkwood/sheevaplug/unpack.html to install debian on a 16G SDHC (Class 6) card. In the beginning i was able to access the card with no problems (the system still running from internal nand). But after a first reboot and trying to start off the card i got trouble, had to partition the card / create file system several times to be able to install. Now the system runs, but when i try to copy a lot of data from the nand (my initial installation) to the card at some time it gets mounted ro, the copy process having i/o errors of course, dmesg shows tons of errors like this:

[16961.000000] mmcblk0: error -110 sending read/write command, response 0x400d00, card status 0x400d00
[16961.010000] end_request: I/O error, dev mmcblk0, sector 17563863
[16962.030000] mvsdio mvsdio: FIFO_EMPTY bit missing
[16962.030000] EXT2-fs error (device mmcblk0p2): ext2_get_inode: unable to read inode block - inode=541989, block=2162706
[16962.040000] Remounting filesystem read-only
[16962.050000] mmcblk0: error -110 sending read/write command, response 0x400d00, card status 0x400d00
[16963.070000] mvsdio mvsdio: FIFO_EMPTY bit missing

and top showing almost 100% cpu-usage of mmcqd. I can still access lots of the file system, but not the directory i tried to write to (/var/www/) and neither most of the binaries (so no reboot, which is bad since i am at work an plug is at home :-( )

Does that mean that the sd-card is defective/dying? Currently i have no other card to test so i want to make sure itīs not software-related before i return the card...

Regards
Gregor

 
Logged

gman86
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2010, 06:22:01 AM »

Hey

I followed the same tutorial to install debian on my plug, except im running 2gb card, I have noticed the same problem intermittently but i never found a solution...
Logged

gregorg
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2010, 07:21:38 AM »

I followed the same tutorial to install debian on my plug, except im running 2gb card, I have noticed the same problem intermittently but i never found a solution...

Me neither, in the meantime i moved the system to an USB-HDD :-/
Logged

UnaClocker
Full Member
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 131



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2010, 09:48:14 AM »

I'm using an 8gb Sandisk Class 4 card, haven't had any problems with mine, been using it for about a month now, I have 24 days of uptime on it at the moment. My USB HDD craps out on me quite a bit, and I have to unmount it, power cycle it (it's a 1TB 3.5" in a self powered enclosure). So I had always felt that it was safer to put the rootfs on the SD than on the USB.. Dunno.. Maybe class 6 is too fast for the plug?
Logged

SheevaPlug - 8gb class 4 SDHC primary drive, 4tb 3.5" media drive, Debian Wheezy, nginx, Samba, Shorewall

fragfutter
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 12
Posts: 280


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2010, 02:26:29 PM »

running from a sdhc class6 from the very beginning (end of August 09) without any problems. Custom compiled kernel 2.6.30.
Logged

UnaClocker
Full Member
***

Karma: 0
Posts: 131



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2010, 04:43:42 PM »

running from a sdhc class6 from the very beginning (end of August 09) without any problems. Custom compiled kernel 2.6.30.
What brand? Maybe this is just one brand of cards that is causing people issues..
Logged

SheevaPlug - 8gb class 4 SDHC primary drive, 4tb 3.5" media drive, Debian Wheezy, nginx, Samba, Shorewall

restamp
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 4
Posts: 273


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2010, 07:39:06 PM »

running from a sdhc class6 from the very beginning (end of August 09) without any problems. Custom compiled kernel 2.6.30.
What brand? Maybe this is just one brand of cards that is causing people issues..
In my case it is a generic 16GB class 6 card purchased at MicroCenter.  Plugged it into my Plug last May and so far it has just worked, without any apparent problems - at least any problems that can be attributable to the card.
Logged

digininja
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 13



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2010, 04:57:46 PM »

I'm getting the same error when trying to install Debian to a 4G Lexar SDHC disk. I've got the partition type set to ext2 as I read that ext3 made this problem worse but it didn't help. Tried installing 3 times tonight.

I'll try another install tomorrow but before the installer starts I'll set the options from the bottom of this page to see if it makes a difference.

http://www.plugpbx.org/?p=350
Logged

folgsam
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2010, 09:48:06 AM »

I've copied the original FS from flash to a ADATA's Asus Eee Edition 16 GB SDHC Card. I'm getting IO-errors after 2 days. Then I copied again und got IO-errors after 1 day. So I copied the flash again but this time to a 2 GB SanDisc SD card and it finally works! Now I use a 16GB Kingston USB flash drive for storage.

The 16GB ADATA card works perfectly on my digital camera...
Logged

oliphaunt
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2010, 04:23:11 AM »

I'm also experiencing this problem after unpacking the debian lenny tarball on SD. I'm wondering whether installing flashybrid would solve this.  Going to try it this week.
Logged

GuardMoony
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2010, 02:46:19 AM »

I've copied the original FS from flash to a ADATA's Asus Eee Edition 16 GB SDHC Card. I'm getting IO-errors after 2 days. Then I copied again und got IO-errors after 1 day. So I copied the flash again but this time to a 2 GB SanDisc SD card and it finally works! Now I use a 16GB Kingston USB flash drive for storage.

The 16GB ADATA card works perfectly on my digital camera...

Its pretty wel explained in the link provided in the post above me.  The protection for increased lifetime for SD cards works only on FAT partitions. So when putting a ext2 filesystem on them the error correction of SD dusnt work anymore hench faster problems while in your camera its probaly reflashed to fat. and so the error correction works again.
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: